AFFECTOR – Sign worldwide deal with InsideOutMusic

Wrap up work on debut album “Harmagedon”; Release date confirmed for May 21st, 2012!

InsideOutMusic is proud to announce the worldwide signing of the progressive rock/metal band band AFFECTOR. 
AFFECTOR is a highly skilled, new international band consisting of German guitar-player Daniel Fries, Dutch drummer Collin Leijenaar (Neal Morse/Dilemma) as well bass player Mike LePond (Symphony X) and vocalist Ted Leonard (Spock's Beard/Enchant/Thought Chamber) - both from the United States.

AFFECTOR’s debut album, “Harmagedon”, which was mixed and mastered at The Mouse House in Los Angeles by Rich Mouser (Spock's Beard/Transatlantic/Neal Morse), will be released via InsideOutMusic on May 21st, 2012 in Europe and May 22nd, 2012 in North America.

AFFECTOR’s Collin Leijenaar comments on the signing as follows:
“We are thrilled to be signing with InsideOutMusic / Century Media. It is THE home for progressive rock & metal, and it feels very much home to us! It has always been a personal dream of mine to release something on this label, and with AFFECTOR this dream has come true! I'm stoked about the future of AFFECTOR, and I hope the audience is too!?”

On their debut album, “Harmagedon”, AFFECTOR are joined by four very special guests on keyboards: 
Alex Argento, Neal Morse (Transatlantic/Flying Colors), Jordan Rudess (Dream Theater) and Derek Sherinian (Planet X/Black Country communion). Also featured on the album is the Polish orchestra Sinfonietta Consonus. This concept album fuses a dark, apocalyptic scenery with themes of hope and light and features heavy riffs and lightning fast solos, but also has softer and more fragile moments, where the soulful singing of Ted Leonard opens a wide spectrum of vocal harmonies.

Citing broad musical influences and diverse inspirations between prog and classic as well as modern rock acts, AFFECTOR is like an open marriage between progressive rock/metal and orchestral minimalism, destined to appeal to everyone into bands ranging from Dream Theater, A.C.T., Symphony X, Darkwater to Queen or Rush.

Daniel Fries – guitars 
Collin Leijenaar – drums 
Mike LePond – bass guitars 
Ted Leonard – vocals

More details about AFFECTOR and “Harmagedon” will be launched in the coming weeks…

AFFECTOR online:


Daniel Fries

Welcome to the official website of progressive guitar virtuoso Daniel Fries. See how he works as a musician, get to know his music and his projects, his musical influences and see him as a guitar teacher. Feel free to mail him for further information.

"Music expresses that which cannot be said and on which it is impossible to be silent."  Victor Hugo


UPDATE: New Tracklist!


1. Overture
2. Salvation
3. The Rapture
4. Falling Away & The Rise Of The Beast
5. Cry Song
6. Harmagedon
7. New Jerusalem
8. Maranatha

All recordings in progress. The stem tracks sound incredible!


There´ll also be a special guest playing a solo on the album! Stay tuned!

The title of the album has changed! It's now called HARMAGEDON


The musicians for this album so far:

Basses: Michael LePond (Symphony X)
Vocals: Ted Leonard (Enchant & Thought Chamber)
Drums: Collin Leijenaar
Keyboards: Neal Morse
Guitars and vocals: Daniel Fries

Because we're all pretty busy guys unfortunately it will still take a while with the recording sessions and the release. But stay tuned, it will be great!

Ted Leonard from Enchant and Thought Chamber will be the lead singer for my album


His voice is unique and amazing. Check it out at and

Start of the "official" recordings in Novae Studios in the Netherlands


Collin Leijenaar and I just planned the project. At last it`s now officially launching. I gave him my Pro Tools sessions with my guitar and vocal tracks (demos). Hopefully he will record his drum tracks until the end of may/beginning of june. I`ll announce the other famous prog-musicians soon.

Stay tuned for that great project!

Musician´s Day 2007 - 01.11.2007 Daniel Fries Guitar-Workshop


Further musicians:
1) Drums: Florian Schnurr
2) Bass: NN
3) Guitar: Daniel Fries
4) Keyboards: Marc Heilmann
5) Lead Vocals: Ruthild Wilson
6) Harmony Vocals: Christof Mann
7) Arrangement: NN
8) Sound mixing and engineering: Sebastian Wittenberg
9) Praise/Worship: Martin Varnholt

Daniel Fries Guitar Clinic


  • Special guests: Collin Leijenaar on Drums and Wilco van Esschoten on Bass (Neal Morse Touring Band)
  • When: Thursday, 19th of April 2007, 18.30h
  • Where: Music On Stage, Ulm, Neue Straße 45
  • Entry: Only 5€
  • Topic: Technique, Solo-Play, Composition


Today I started working on the vocals


for the songs Salvation and Falling Away. The songs will be extended and we hope to start the recordings in february. The titles of the pieces might change because of the lyrical concept of the album. I apologize for the delays but we`re all pretty busy musicians at the moment.